Martyrs of Corfu

Also known as the Seven Holy Thieves or Seven Robbers> Martyred in the 2nd century on the Island of Corcyra (now Corfu). Their names were Saturninus, Insischolus, Faustianus, Januarius, Marsalius, Euphrasius, Mammius. They were converted in prison by Saint Jason and Saint Sosipater, who had been arrested for preaching the faith throughout the island. According to tradition they were boiled in oil and pitch. Feast, 29 April.

Published in: on 8 January 2007 at 5:41 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is:

%d bloggers like this: